top of page

Christmas Reindeer Food

Are y’all ready for your holidays?

The one question I hear a lot is, do you have your shopping done? I’m happy to say I have about two more gifts to buy, and then I’m all finished! I'm a big planner for the holidays. I usually have at least half of it done before Thanksgiving. That way I have plenty of time to make, and share, Christmas treats. I used to work in retail, and I remember a shopper one year that told me they were just starting their Christmas shopping! It was Christmas Eve, and our store was closing in 30 minutes! I hope they found all they needed.

Anyways, all this holiday celebrating, has me excited! Excited to share some of my favorite holiday recipes, Reindeer Food. I have been making this recipe since I was in high school. It's something my family makes every Christmas season. It would be a crime if we didn't! Reindeer Food is one of my favorite Christmas treats. It is so easy to put together, and absolutely delicious. To be honest, its addicting! I don’t usually make Reindeer Food unless there are plenty of people to help me eat it. Otherwise, I'll devour the whole thing. By myself!

Reindeer food is a yummy caramel sauce poured over cereal, and then mixed with candy and nuts. Who wouldn't love this? Maybe Scrooge? Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

Ingredients

6 C Chex Mix

6 C Grahm Cracker Cereal

1 stick of butter

1 C Corn syrup

1 C Brown Sugar

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2-1 C Seasonal M&M's

1/2 C Milk Chocolate Chips

1 C Peanuts

First place the cereal into a large mixing bowl. You don't need this making a big mess!

Melt your butter in a sauce pan, along with the syrup and sugar. Once its all melted and mixed, bring to a boil, for about 1 minute. Turn off the heat and add in the baking soda. The mixture is going to start rising, so whisk it.

Now poor this over your cereal and stir it all together. Make sure to get the stuff at the bottom. Next, place this mixture on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees, for about 8-10 minutes. This step, makes it so the mix isn't so sticky. Let it cool.

Everything is going to be glued together, after baking. Just break it apart, and sprinkle on your peanuts, chocolate and M&M's. Sometimes, I like to put mine on, while its still warm, to melt the chocolate a little. This doesn't look, quite as pretty, but it tastes scrumptious!

It's ready! Be sure to invite others, Reindeer Food is so good! I have a hard time not eating it all myself. Merry Christmas, y'all!


Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page