top of page

Firehouse Carnitas


My Husband has been a firefighter for twenty-four years! And let me tell you, those guys have some pretty great recipes! I want to share with you one of my favorites! It's a regular at the fire station, and a regular at our house too! We call them Firehouse Carnitas. They are so easy, you are going to love them!

Here's what you need,

Ingredients:

Pork Loin or Carnitas Meat, 4-6 pounds

1 can of diced tomatoes with green chilies

2 cups of Broth, Beef, Chicken, or Vegetable broth works

1Tablespoon of Steak Seasoning

1Tablespoon of Garlic Powder

Salt and Pepper

Put your Pork Loin, or Carnitas meat into a pan. I love to use a disposable foil pan! Easy clean ups are the best! Pour the broth over the top. Add the can of tomatoes with green chilies on top of the meat. Then sprinkle on the seasonings.

Bake at 325 degrees, for 3-4 hours, until fork tender.

After it's all cooked, shred the meat. Then put it back into the oven to broil until the top of it gets nice and crispy! Watch it closely, you don't want to burn it!

My goodness this is so delicious! I make it at least twice a month. It's perfect for visitors, and can feed a crowd! My cute Son loves this Meal!

I like to serve mine with all the fixings, and a side of homemade refried beans.

Homemade Refried Beans in the Crock Pot

Ingredients:

1 Pound of Dry Pinto Beans, rinsed

1 Onion peeled, and chopped

9 Cups of broth, you can use chicken, beef, or vegetable broth

1 Stick of butter

1-2 Tablespoons of Garlic Powder

1-2 Tablespoons of Cumin

Salt and Pepper to taste

Throw all the ingredients into your crock pot, and cook for 6-8 hours. When the beans are soft, and starting to pop open, they are ready! You can add some water if they seem dry. Blend the beans up with a fork, or potato masher. Add more salt, and pepper if you need too! Thats it! I like to serve mine with cheese on top! I hope you love our Firehouse Carnitas, and homemade refried beans!


Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page