top of page

Simple Sushi

I've heard quite a bit of people say they are amazed that I can make sushi... My husband was one of them! This was before my sweet hubby and I started dating. I remember him telling me how much he loved sushi. I told him that I love sushi too, and I enjoy making my own! Yes, I was totally trying to impress him! Well it worked! He was impressed, and asked me out on a date that same day! We went to dinner, a local sushi joint, and to a movie! We've been together ever since! I'm excited to share with you how to make my Simple Sushi! Maybe it will help you catch the eye of someone special too! Here we go...

Simple Sushi

Ingredients:

2 cups of sushi rice

Nori sheets

1 English cucumber

1 avocado

2 cups of imitation crab, do not use frozen! It is so gross!

1 package of cream cheese

1 mango

First things first, cook your sushi rice. I added 2 cups of sushi rice, salt, and 4 cups of water, into my rice cooker, and pushed the white rice button. Perfect rice every time!

You are going to need a sushi mat! Here's a really good tip: cover your sushi mat in plastic wrap!

It makes it so much easier to roll! You'll be glad you did!

Another great tip: cut the Nori sheets in half! It's how the restaurants make cute fat rolls. It also creates a better seal, because the rice overlaps. And I think it tastes better!

Okay, now were are getting to it! Grab a handful of sushi rice, and flatten it out onto the mat. Tip: Wet your hands, so the rice doesn't stick to you!

Now lay the half sheet of Nori on top of the rice.

My favorite filling for Sushi is my special Blended Crab Mixture!

Ingredients:

2 cups of Imitation crab

1/2 cup of Mayo

1/3 or 1/4 cup of Sriracha, depending on how spicy you like it!

Mix the imitation crab, mayo, and Sriracha in your food processor, until combined! Now its ready to add into your sushi roll!

Okay, select the fillings you want in the sushi roll. Place them in a line, on top of the nori. I like to put my sushi filings on one end of the nori, so it closes easier!

Here is an example of one I made, blended crab mixture, avocado, mango, and cream cheese! Yummy! My husband likes the blended crab mixture, cream cheese, and avocado! My sister Maddie just likes cream cheese, and avocado. There are so many good mixes you can try!

Ready to Roll?! Tuck the filling under as you roll the mat forward, keep tucking the filling back in as you go. When you get to the end squeeze the roll in the mat softly, you don't want all the filling to spill out of the ends! Unroll the mat and move the roll back to the middle, roll it once again to get a good seal on it! Now you can cut it to the thickness you like. I don't have a special sushi knife, so I like to use a sharpe serrated knife. Here is a really good tip: Wet the knife between each cut. I know its a pain, but that's how you get the pretty, clean cuts!

I like to serve my sushi with Sriracha Mayo, its delicious!

Sriracha Mayo

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of Mayo

3 tablespoons of Sriracha

Mix the ingredients together in a bowl, and enjoy!


Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page