top of page

Maple Bacon Sweet Potatoes

I got the idea for this recipe from a friend. She was telling me about the sweet potato recipe that she brings to her families Thanksgiving every year. Funny thing, that's what I'm assigned every year too! So I was excited to try it out and test it on my family, a little pre Thanksgiving preparation. My family. loved. it.

I mixed my potatoes, and did a mixture of orange and white sweet potatoes. This gives it some extra color along with the bacon and basil, and it looks gorgeous next to the rest of the dishes. If you don't like the texture of mashed potatoes, then there is something you will really like about this dish, they're roasted. In a little bit of bacon grease, and syrup. Yum! Sweet and Salty's always the perfect combination, right!

Ingredients

9 Small Sweet Potatoes (or 4-5 large ones)

5 oz. Bacon

1/4 C Syrup

1 tsp. Basil

1 tsp. Salt or to Taste

First step is to chop and start cooking the bacon. I don't completely cook the bacon, because it's going to spend some time roasting in the oven with the sweet potatoes. Also, to peel the potatoes. This is never my favorite part of potatoes, don't know why, it never takes that long. Once they are peeled, chop them into bite size pieces.

After the bacon is finished cooking, toss your potatoes in about half the bacon grease. Add in the bacon, syrup, basil and salt. Now roast them in your oven at 37 degrees for 35-45 minutes or until soft. The time can very, depending on what kind of dish you roast them in and the size you cut the sweet potatoes. Pull them out to drizzle on a little extra syrup and then broil for a minute. Watch them closely, or they'll burn!

Other than peeling potatoes, that's pretty easy right? I love that you don't have to do a lot of work for these just mix, bake and serve. Yet, they look beautiful! You can serve with a little bit of fresh chives on top, I like to. Happy Cooking friends!


Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page