top of page

Tricky Halloween Cupcakes


If you ask my little one what she wants to help make in the kitchen, the answer is always the same. Cupcakes! They are her favorite treat, which makes me laugh a little since my husband and I are both more likely to reach for a cookie. Who can blame her though, cupcakes get to be frosted, decorated and sometimes they can hold a little surprise! I call these tricky Halloween cupcakes, not because you'll find a gross surprise in them, but they kinda tickle your taste buds in a special way. The secret lies within the frosting, my favorite part of a cupcake. I add a little citric acid to it and you end up with a sweet and sour frosting! kinda like the gummy treats we used to decorate the top of our Halloween treats. Sweet and sour bats! For the cupcake, I did my original vanilla cupcake mix, you could use a box mix as well, but the flavor of these is more to my liking. More flavorful then a box. My family loved these unusual treats and gobbled them up fast!

Here is what you will need to make these crafty treats!

Vanilla Cupcakes:

3 eggs

3/4 C Butter

1 C Sugar

1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla

3/4 C Milk

1 1/2 C Flour

2 tsp. Baking Powder

1 Package Vanilla Pudding

Sweet and Sour Frosting:

1 3/4 C Butter

1/2 Cube of Cream Cheese

3 1/2 - 4 C Powder Sugar

1 1/2 - 2 1/2 tsp. of Fruit Fresh (Citric Acid)

First thing I did was to crack the eggs and beat them. Don't over beat them, you don't need them to turn into a meringue.

Here is my cute little helper in the kitchen. She loves to join me in the kitchen as much as possible.

Next add in the warm butter, sugar, milk and vanilla. Blend all those ingredients until they are well mixed.

Lastly is the flour, baking powder and vanilla pudding box. blend that into your wet ingredients and your cupcake mixture is ready to bake. Not much more work then the box, but tastes way better in my opinion!

Now onto the frosting! This is easy too, all you have to do is mix your warm butter, warm cream cheese, powder sugar, citric acid and if you would like, some food coloring together. Its important to make sure your cream cheese is very soft, that way your frosting isn't clumpy. This is the best frosting and so different from anything else I've tried!

Now my favorite part, decorating! I mentioned above we used sweet and sour gummy bats, we also had gummy skulls and pumpkins.

I didn't let the surprise end with my frosting, I add something fun and popping to the top as well....

POPROCKS! My little one really enjoyed these, and I have to add, me too! They were so fun at the top of our cupcakes.

I'd love to hear what you and your families thought of these fun cupcakes, maybe you even surprised them with these tricky treats? Enjoy these Tricky Halloween cupcakes, and I hope you and your family have a fun holiday together! Happy Halloween!

Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page