top of page

Savory Bacon Ranch Funeral Potato Casserole


Funeral potatoes are a classic side dish for our family. It's the perfect, comforting addition to any meal. For our Easter meal Nana asked me to bring funeral potatoes. I didn't want to bring just any funeral potatoes- I wanted to put a twist on them and I knew just how to do it!

It's a running joke in our family that I love to eat the food that Nana buys for the little grandbabies. From the capri sun drinks to the goldfish.. it's all my favorite! haha One thing all the grandbabies and I LOOVEE is RANCH. It's the dressing sent from heaven in my opinion. A few months ago, Nana was out of ranch and it just about ruined the meal for me haha! Add it to pizza, chicken wings, veggies, you name it. It's perfection.

So- I immediately knew I should add ranch. But I needed one more thing to make this side dish the highlight of the night. Bacon. The answer to everything.

I always have a dried ranch dips packet in the spice cabinet and I bought my favorite bacon- Hickory Smoked Bacon.

The first thing I did was saute some garlic and onion in a cast iron skillet with some butter. While that was sauteing I cut the bacon into small pieces. After the onion was translucent and the garlic was browned- I added my bacon.

Once the bacon was nice and crisp, I strained it and let it cool. I place my strainer in a bowl when I drain grease so I can make sure to dispose of the grease properly using my garbage disposal.

While the bacon cooled I added cream of chicken, sour cream, dried ranch, pepper, parmesan cheese, and cheddar cheese to a large bowl. I mixed them thoroughly together with a spatula.

Then I took the bacon and stirred that in- gosh it looks good!!

And then I added the frozen shredded hash browns. I stirred this in thoroughly and tried to make sure there was an even amount of bacon throughout.

Once it was all together I placed the delicious mixture in a 9x13 glass baking dish. I made sure to use spray olive oil on it before- just in case. I packed it firmly making the top flat.

Then- I took 4 Tablespoons of butter and melted it in the microwave. Once melted I added panko bread crumbs, mixed those together, and then sprinkled it on top.

Then I placed it in the oven at 375 degrees for about 45-55 minutes or until the topping is browned.

SAVORY BACON RANCH FUNERAL POTATO CASSEROLE

Ingredients:

1/4 cup fresh yellow onion

3 tsp fresh garlic clove

2 TB butter (for sauteing)

12 oz hickory smoked bacon

1 Hidden Valley Ranch Dips Mix

10.5 oz can cream of chicken

1 cup sour cream

2 tsp pepper

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

1 lb frozen hash browns, thawed

4 TB butter (for topping)

1 1/2 cup plain panko bread crumbs

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Saute 2 TB butter, onion, and garlic.

3. Cut bacon 1/2 inch pieces.

4. Add bacon to skillet with onion and garlic. Cook until crisp.

5. Strain grease from bacon. Let cool.

6. Mix together cream of chicken, Ranch Dips Mix, sour cream, pepper, parmesan cheese, and cheddar cheese.

7. Mix in bacon.

8. Add hashbrowns. Mix thoroughly.

9. Grease a 9x13 glass baking dish and spread mixture evenly in the pan.

10. Melt 4 tablespoons of butter. Mix in panko bread crumbs and sprinkle over the top of the potatoes.

11. Bake for about 45-55 minutes or until the topping is browned.

ENJOY!


Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page