top of page

Hearty Irish Stew over mashed potatoes

Saint Patrick's Day is just around the corner. I love this holiday! I love the color green, but I don't like the pinching! I tell my kids only kisses! Lol! On Saint Patrick's Day my dad would talk like he was from Ireland. He would say it was his heritage coming out in him. I don't think he had much Irish in him! But my dad was always a lot of fun, and always make me laugh. When I think of Saint Patrick's Day, I think of my dad, and this yummy Irish stew. It's one of my family's favorite. So sit down at dinner with your family with a cup of this Irish stew, and celebrate the luck of the Irish!

INGREDIENTS

. 2 tablespoon olive oil

. 2lb lean beef stew meat cut into bites

. 3 tablespoon of flour

. 4 large carrots, peeled and diced

. 1 medium yellow onion, chopped

. 4 cups of beef broth

. 1 tablesppon basil

. 1 tablesoon parsley

. 1 talesppon oregano

. Salt and Pepper to taste

. 1 tablespoon of fresh parsley

. Mashed Potatoes

INSTRUCTIONS

1. In a large stock pan, heat olive oil and butter, over medium heat.

2. In a large bowl, toss beef together with flour, salt and pepper to coat. Add to the pan and cook until the meat is browned.

3.While beef is almost done browning, add your carrots, onions, beef broth, herbs and seasonings into the pot.

4. Put your stock pot of stew into your pre-heated oven 350 degrees for 1 1/2 - 2 hours until meat is tender.

We like to serve ours over mashed potatoes, with a nice slice of Irish Soda Bread. ( See our recipe).

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!


Related Posts

See All

Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page