top of page

Candied Sweet Potatoes


I'm really excited to share my candied sweet potatoes with y'all, it is SO good! This is the side dish I make every Thanksgiving and every year it is gobbled up quickly!! I say side dish, but it could almost pass as a dessert. My family LOVES my sweet potato's and I look forward to making it every year. This season I tend to go overboard with the sweet potato's, pumpkin and squash. How could you not? A friend of mine was telling me about a sweet potato dish she makes and I can't wait to try it out and add my spin to it, but for now here are my traditional sweet potato's, enjoy!

Ingredients:

4 Sweet Potatoes

1/3 C Butter

1/4 C Syrup

1/3-1/2 C Sugar

Candy Topping

4 T Butter

1/2 C Flour

1/3 C Sugar

1/3 C Pecans

First step is to peel and wash your potatoes. This is my least favorite part of making this. I don't know what it is, but I'm not a fan of peeling potatoes. Luckily it goes quick.

Dice your potatoes and place them in a pot of water and bring it to a boil. Once your potatoes are soft enough to pierce with a fork, they are ready.

Next drain the water, place your sweet potato's in a mixer and add in your butter, syrup and sugar. Now let the mixer do the hard work!

I love using my mixer for this, it helps get rid of that stringy stuff from the sweet potato's, it all gets caught on the blenders. Your left with a smooth and creamy texture. Now you can place your sweet potato's in a baking dish and make your candy topping.

In a bowl, mix together the butter, flour and sugar with a fork. Be careful not to over mash, it should be clumpy. Don't forget those yummy pecans, add them in now.

Bake your candied sweet potato's at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes. Then broil for a minute, watch it carefully! It will burn fast, I never even walk away from my oven.

Your done! Enjoy these sweet potato's with your family and happy holidays to you and your loved ones!


Hello! 

Follow us!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Quick Guide

Recent Posts

Categories

blog-1.jpg
bottom of page